Kathy Faulks asks what are protected characteristics and why do they matter to all charities, voluntary organisations and community groups?


What are protected characteristics?

The Equality Act makes it unlawful to discriminate against anyone because of a protected characteristic in a whole range of areas of life including employment and the provision of services.

The protected characteristics are:

  1.  Age
  2.  Disability
  3.  Gender reassignment
  4.  Marriage and civil partnership
  5.  Pregnancy
  6.  Race
  7.  Religion and belief
  8.  Sex
  9.  Sexual orientation

What next?

Would your organisation or group be interested in a training session to look at protected characteristics and to also look at the meanings of

  • Direct discrimination
  • Associative discrimination
  • Discrimination by perception
  • Harassment
  • Harassment by a third party
  • Victimisation

If you read this and you haven’t got a clue what I am going on about then you really should comment that you would like training!

Contact, follow Kathy on twitter @kathyfaulks or call 0113 297 7920.

(Dick-are you reading this?)          


Comments (3)

  1. Dick:
    May 14, 2014 at 02:21 PM

    What a cheek! I jolly well am a protected characteristic and I will explain why when you run this course.

  2. Julian:
    May 14, 2014 at 02:46 PM

    I say Dick-the Small Groups Development Worker is only trying to be helpful.

  3. Anne:
    May 14, 2014 at 02:48 PM

    So am I!

Add a Comment

Allowed tags: <b><i><br>